These are only walls that hold me here.

1:45 best part ever.

I didn’t know how much I actually liked that song until I just bought it from iTunes–I would definitely recommend it.

And no, it has nothing to do with Twilight.

I also read Wuthering Heights recently.

Also, nothing to do with Twilight. I did not read it because of Twilight. I read it because I was bored and wanted to read.

I wouldn’t recommend it. It’s beautifully written, thought-provoking, but it’s also tragic, depressing, and you can feel the character’s pain. The last 1 or 2 pages were probably the only 2 happy ones.

I think I’m going to re-read it, because I had several preconcieved notions that it was a love story about Heathcliff and Catherine, and that lead me to be very confused about how it opened. But it was a clever, heartbreaking story, I must say. Emily Bronte found the words to what we all feel. My favorite is “Whatever souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”

Awww. Romance.

Stuff it. I didn’t read it because it was a love story. I read it because I love the title, “Wuthering Heights”. And I was not disappointed.

It’s not my favorite book, but I think it’s one of the most mature I’ve ever read, and not in a sexy way. I mean, most thought-provoking and haunting and questioning. It’s not a happy story. The characters aren’t happy. That’s what makes it such a rough, abrasive sort of story. It hurts you as the characters are hurt. And that’s hard to do.

Oh, Emily Bronte, hopefully one day I will be as eloquent as you are.

-A.

Leave a comment